SC’s Frusti top kicker in Great Lakes 8

Superior Central quarterback Kyle Frusti, left, spins out of a tackle by Carney-Nadeau’s Brett LaFord on his way to the end zone for the game-tying touchdown from 20 yards out as time expired in their high school football game played at Powers on Saturday, Sept. 7, 2019. Frusti was named to the Great Lakes Eight Conference all-league team this season. (Escanaba Daily Press photo by Austin Hemmingson)

By Journal Sports Staff

ENGADINE — Superior Central senior Kyle Frusti was named the Kicker of the Year in the Great Lakes Eight Conference in recent voting among the league’s teams.

Frusti was also named as a quarterback on the eight-player football league’s all-conference team along with a berth on its East Division Team.

Senior teammate James Maki also made the East Division Team, while two other Cougars, Parker Maki and Zach Frusti, earned East Division honorable mention.

The area’s other league member, Newberry, had three players earn all-conference and West Division Team laurels. They were senior Ivan Oswald, named all-conference as a defensive lineman; senior Logan Depew, all-conference as a defensive back; and junior Eric Edwards, who was named all-conference as a wide receiver.

A fourth Newberry player, junior Coleton Labadie, was also named to the West Division Team, while two teammates earned honorable mention — Johnny Nytkins and Liam Shanley.

The 13-team league includes teams from throughout the Upper Peninsula, though Munising wasn’t a member this year in the Mustangs’ first season in eight-player football.

North Central and Cedarville shared the conference Team of the Year honor, while Cedarville’s Scott Barr earned Coach of the Year.

NC’s Luke Gorzinski was named Offensive Player of the Year and Cedarville’s Grant Fountain the Defensive Player of the Year.

NC was named Team of the Year in the West Division while Cedarville shared the award with Pickford and Rapid River in the East Division.

Here are the other players who earned all-conference and all-division plaudits, listed with school and year:


Quarterback — Luke Gorzinski, NC, soph.

Running back — Grant Fountain, Cedarville, sr.; Mason Harris, Brimley, sr.; Micah Bailey, Pickford, sr.

Offensive lineman — Wyatt Smith, RR, sr.; Nicholas Nance, Engadine, sr.; Josh Newell, Cedarville, sr.; Eric Huyck, Pickford, sr.; Fabion Chartier, NC, sr.

Wide receiver — Ian Gorzinski, NC, sr.; Louie Mayer, Rudyard, sr.

Hybrid-offense — EJ Suggitt, Rudyard, jr.

Linebacker — Grant Fountain, Cedarville, sr.; Griffin Flath, RR, sr.; Micah Bailey, Pickford, sr.; Luke Gorzinski, NC, soph.

Defensive end — Tommy Showers, Forest Park, sr.; Michael Fairchild, Cedarville, sr.; Joseph Soccia, Pickford, sr.; Wyatt Riley, NC, sr.

Defensive back — Dominic Bonnee, Pickford, sr.; Bailey Hiltz, Cedarville, sr.; Ian Gorzinski, NC, sr.

Defensive lineman — Josh Newell, Cedarville, sr.; Eric Huyck, Pickford, sr.; Carter Eichmeir, NC, sr.; Gabe Scarlassara, Forest Park, sr.


Brimley — Mason Harris, sr.; Brandon Pomeroy, sr.; Caleb Lipponen, jr.; Gary LaPine, sr.

Cedarville — Grant Fountain, sr.; Trevor Norris, sr.; Josh Newell, sr.; Caleb Kohlmann, sr.; Bailey Hiltz, sr.

Engadine — Nicholas Nance, sr.; Matthias Miller, jr.

Pickford — Micah Bailey, sr.; Dominic Bonnee, sr.; Eric Huyck, sr.; Hayden Taylor, sr.; Kyle Rounds, sr.; Joseph Socia, sr.

Rudyard — Louie Mayer, sr.; EJ Suggitt, jr.; Austin Warner, jr.; Cam Peterson, fresh.

Rapid River — Bryce Lundquist, sr.; Damyn Smith, jr.; Wyatt Smith, sr.; Parker Dausey, sr.; Griffin Flath, sr.; Max Lenaker, sr.


Carney-Nadeau — Peyton Imhoff, jr.; Brayden Kakuk, soph.; Juan Maier, sr.

Forest Park — Gabe Scarlassara, sr.; Tommy Showers, sr.; Timmy Bendick, jr.; Will Curtis, soph.; Mason Rintala, sr.

North Central — Luke Gorzinski, soph.; Ian Gorzinski, sr.; Wyatt Riley, sr.; Alex Naser, jr.; Fabian Chartier, sr.; Cater Eichmeir, sr.

Ontonagon — Jaden Borseth, jr.; Tommy Cousineau, sr.

Stephenson — James Colden, sr.; Devon Groleau, soph.; Canaan Elson, jr.; Niko Gibellina, jr.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today