Miners’ Bell, Emeralds’ Muth share M-PC Player of the Year

Negaunee head coach Sarah MacDonald, center, talks to her team during a timeout in the third set of an MHSAA Division 3 volleyball district tournament match against Manistique held Monday, Nov. 4, 2019, at Lakeview Memroial Gymnasium in Negaunee. (Photo courtesy Daryl T. Jarvinen)
Negaunee's Natalie Bell, right, gets the ball past the outstretched arms of Calumet's Lizzie Torola in the third set of their MHSAA Division 3 high school volleyball regional semifinal match at Westwood High School on Tuesday, Nov. 10, 2020. (Photo courtesy Daryl T. Jarvinen)

By Journal Sports Staff

ISHPEMING — League co-champions Negaunee and Manistique each had five players recognized when Mid-Peninsula Conference volleyball coaches voted on league honors that were announced last week.

Negaunee picked up two special awards as Sarah MacDonald was named Coach of the Year and junior Natalie Bell earned co-Player of the Year.

Bell shared her POTY honor with Manistique senior Kayla Muth, while Emeralds senior teammate Madison Zellar was the only player to earn a nod on both the First Team and Defensive Team.

Two other area players were named to the Second Team and Defensive Team, however — Gwinn senior Elliina Miilu and Ishpeming junior Hannah Deloughary.

Other Miners honorees were senior Larissa Anderson on the First Team, senior Allie Ennett on the Second Team, senior Sierra Hendrickson on the Defensive Team and senior Emilia Palomaki on honorable mention.

For Manistique, in addition to Zellar on the First and Defensive teams, Brooke Richey made the First Team and Emma Jones and Ella Schuetter earned honorable mention.

From Gwinn, in addition to Miilu on the Second and Defensive squads, seniors Tianna Taylor and Halle Beauchamp made the First Team and junior Jordana Hardy honorable mention.

For Ishpeming, in addition to Deloughary making Second and Defensive teams, junior Olivia Corp was put on the Second Team and junior Megan Racine got honorable mention.

Westwood had a pair of honorees, both on the Second Team — senior Livvie Wood and sophomore Maddy Marta.

Iron Mountain’s honorees were Annslee Runsat on the First Team, Lexi Hagen on the Defensive Team and McKenna Smith on honorable mention, while Gladstone’s single honoree was Ahna Larson on the Defensive Team.

Manistique and Iron Mountain shared the junior varsity co-championship.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today