Ishpeming’s big run spurs victory over L’Anse

ISHPEMING — Ishpeming turned a competitive game into a rout after going on a 20-0 run in the third quarter of their 85-53 girls victory on Monday night.

The Hematites led just 38-26 at halftime, but IHS coach Ryan Reichel felt his team’s superior depth turned the tide.

“We kept cycling fresh legs at them knowing they have only seven players on (their) roster and that paid off,” Reichel said. “I thought they competed hard; (L’Anse) just ran out of gas to our benefit.”

The Hematites’ Madigan Johns led all scorers with 24 points, 15 coming in the more closely contested first half. Khora Swanson complemented her, scoring 22 with 11 coming in the decisive third quarter.

The Purple Hornets were paced by Bailey Froberg with 21 points while Alana Jorgenson had 10.

Newberry 61,

Engadine 32

At Newberry, Indians coach Fred Bryant wasn’t too unhappy his team was outrebounded for the first time this season since Newberry forced Engadine into 23 turnovers.

“We put on full-court, man-to-man defensive pressure,” he said. “It put a lot of pressure on them, even though we also gave up a few easy baskets.”

Indians 5-foot-6 senior all-stater Taylor Bryant scored a game-high 26 points to go with 12 rebounds, seven steals and six assists.

Newberry steadily built its lead, going up 16-7 after one quarter, 28-14 at halftime and 41-22 by the end of the third quarter.

Westwood 58,

Iron Mountain 20

At Iron Mountain, the Patriots used a balanced scoring attack to roll past the Mountaineers.

Elizabeth Farley led Westwood with 13 points, while Marissa Carello had 11 and Paige Rivard had 10.

“I’m extremely proud of the girls,” Patriots head coach Kurt Corcoran said. “I think we’ve done a pretty good job this year defensively, holding teams that typically score well.

“We played unselfish basketball and that was very good to see. It was a great team effort.”

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee and Journal Sports Writer Ryan Stieg. Their email address is sports@miningjournal.net.