Incumbents re-elected to school boards

MARQUETTE — Some local school boards will see changes to their membership, while voters in other communities elected several incumbents.

Four incumbents were re-elected to terms on the Marquette Area Public Schools Board of Education during the Tuesday midterm elections.

Trustee Kristen Cambensy was re-elected for a six-year term after getting 7,158 votes. Secretary-Treasurer Jim Hewitt was re-elected for a six-year term after garnering 5,867 votes while Trustee Glenn Sarka will serve another six years after receiving 5,157 votes.

Brandon Canfield received 4,055 votes while Erich Norse Ottem had 2,882 votes.

Incumbent Trustee Keith Glendon was re-elected for a partial term through December 2020 after receiving 5,438 votes to George Pond Jr.’s 4,757 votes.

Two seats were open on the Gwinn Area Communitiy Schools Board of Education. Secretary Avis Meyers-Ketola won a six-year term with a vote total of 2,092. Brad Johnson was elected to the board for six years after receiving 1,928 votes.

Incumbent Patricia Emery received 1,656 votes.

Treasurer John Waldo ran unopposed and received 2,911 votes.Trustee Glenn Boogren also ran unopposed and garnered 2,965 votes.

The Negaunee Public Schools Board of Education will have two new faces for the next six years.

Todd A. Saunders won a seat on the board with 2,074, followed by Paul Maino with 1,887.

Patrick Thomson received 1,800 votes. Maino also was elected to the Negaunee City Council.

President Robert Nadeau was re-elected to the Ishpeming Public Schools Board of Education with 1,551 votes. Trustee Angela Johnson was re-elected with 1,844 votes. Nadeau and Johnson were the only names on the ballot for the two six-year terms.

For a partial term ending in 2020, Treasurer Tomback was re-elected with 1,667 votes. Trustee Scott Lyman was re-elected with 1,555 votes, as was Trustee Joe Routhier who received 1,367 votes.

Vice President Ronald Mariani ran unopposed for a six-year seat on the NICE Community Schools Board of Education and received 2,607 votes.

Linda Fleury ran unopposed for a four-year seat on the Powell Township Board of Education and received 455 votes.

Winning two-year seats on the Republic-Michigamme Board of Education were Treasurer Teresa M. Laakso with 605 votes, Jacob Spear with 582 votes and Vice President Hailie Hoover-Dyer with 547 votes.

Cassandra Harris and Sandra Holmes were elected to the Wells Township Board of Education with 71 votes each.

Christie Bleck can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 250.