Alger County elects board members

MARQUETTE — Alger County residents cast their ballots Tuesday, determining who was seated on various boards and whether certain millage proposals passed or not.

Several candidates were elected to seats on the Alger County Board of Commissioners.

Representing District 1 will be Catherine Pullen, who ran unopposed and garnered 598 votes. There were 24 write-in votes for the seat. Joseph P. VanLandschoot, who ran unopposed for District 2, received 581 votes. There were 19 write-in votes cast.

Competing for District 3, Esley M. Mattson received 373 votes against opponent David Kronk, who garnered 311 votes, with voters also writing in candidates 14 times.

Jerry Doucette, who ran unopposed, received 517 votes to represent District 4. There were 21 write-in votes.

Competing to represent District 5, Mary Jo O’Halloran-Torongo received 410 votes while Mickey G. Rondeau received 400 votes, with no write-in votes cast in that race.

Rock River Township voters determined three candidates for the Chatham Village Council.

Kerrie Posio, Tammy Shega and Kristi Taskey were the top three vote-getters, beating Larry Stebbings and Paul J. Whitmarsh. Posio received 62 votes, Shega received 58 and Taskey received 49, while Stebbings received 37 and Whitmarsh received 41. There were seven votes for Joe Langer as a write-in candidate.

Four people were elected as Superior Central School Board members, including Ben Bartlett, with 466 votes, Melissa Hall, with 461 votes, Lyle P. Rutter, who received 423 votes, and Katie Wares, who received 427 votes. Jennine Mallory received 283 votes and there were six write-in votes.

Two people were elected to serve on the Burt Township School Board. Megan Desmond and Nickolas Dongvillo were the two top vote-getters, with Desmond received 245 votes and Dongvillo receiving 165. Their opponent Calvin McShane received 108 votes. There were 14 write-in votes.

Munising residents also cast ballots to determine the two candidates for the Munising School Board.

Elected were Jason Brisson, who received 1,625 votes, and Gregory A. Pond, who received 1,446 votes. Alma Oatley received 1,413 votes and there were 48 write-in votes.

Voters also passed three millage proposals in Alger County Tuesday.

Au Train Township voters decided to renew an operating millage for Au Train-Onota Public Schools, with 429 casting yes votes, and 142 submitting nay votes. The proposal allows the school district to continue to levy the statutory rate not to exceed 18 mills on all property, except principal residences and other properties exempted by law. The proposal is a requirement for the school district to receive its full revenue per pupil foundation allowance and would renew a millage that will otherwise expire with the 2018 tax levy. The currently authorized millage rate limitation of 18 mills is $18 on each $1,000 of taxable valuation. The school district will collect around $823,909.

The Burt Township School District No. 2 in a 171-131 vote, was approved to borrow the sum of around $1.2 million for remodeling, including security improvements, for a school building.

The estimated millage that will be levied for the proposed bonds in 2019, under current law, is 1.5 mills or $1.50 on each $1,000 of taxable valuation.

The maximum number of years for the bond is 23 years. The estimated simple average annual millage anticipated to be required to retire this bond debt is 1.28 mills or $1.28 on each $1,000 of taxable valuation.

Grand Island Township voters passed a millage for fire protection services, in an 18-3 vote, and general township operating purposes, in a 18-4 vote.

The first proposal asked voters to determine whether to increase a millage for fire protection services to 2 mills, or $2 per $1,000 of taxable value that was reduced to 1.9994 mills by the required rollbacks that are due to expire in 2018. The millage will go back to 2 mills and be levied for four years, raising an estimated $8,900 in the first year.

The general township operating millage will be levied for four years, raising an estimated $8,900 in the first year.

Jaymie Depew can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 206.