Baldini, Stonehouse, Frazier win city commission election

Tom Baldini

MARQUETTE — Voters chose two incumbents and one previous commissioner to represent them on the Marquette City Commission in today’s city-wide non-partisan election.

Mayor Pro Tem Tom Baldini received 2,922 votes, Fred Stonehouse received 2,259 votes and Commissioner Peter Frazier received 2,091 votes.

Losing candidates were Tony Ghiringheli with 1,300 votes, Jeremy Ottaway with 1,149 votes and Justin Brugman with 1,061 votes.

The seven-member commission will look very similar, except that Commissioner Mike Conley, who opted not to run for a second term, will be replaced by Stonehouse, a former commissioner.

A commissioner to serve the remainder of the term of Commissioner Sara Cambensy, who won today’s special election for the 109th State House District, will be selected in either a special election or appointment by the city commission, in accordance with the Marquette City Charter.

Commissioners serve three-year terms and may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

The commission acts as the legislative branch of city government to represent the citizens of Marquette, establish policies and approve the budget. The commission also has the power to hire a city manager and city attorney, and to appoint citizens to serve on numerous advisory boards and commissions.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)