Polls open Tuesday for various races

MARQUETTE — The polls will be open in Marquette County Tuesday for the election to decide a multitude of offices, including the seat for the 109th District in the Michigan House of Representatives.

Poll hours are 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Vying for the 109th District seat, vacated by the late John Kivela, are Democratic challenger Sara Cambensy, Republican challenger Rich Rossway and Wade Roberts of the Green Party.

Other non-partisan races to be decided are the Marquette City Commission, the Marquette Board of Light and Power, the Negaunee City Council and the Negaunee City Board of Review.

Polling places are: Champion Township, Precinct 1, Champion Township Office, 5317 U.S. 41, Champion; Chocolay Township, Precinct 1, Chocolay Township Hall, 5010 U.S. 41, Harvey, and Precinct 2, Prince of Peace Church, 555 Riverside Road, Harvey; Ely Township, Precinct 1, Ely Township Hall, 1555 Marquette County Road 496, Ishpeming; Ewing Township, Precinct 1, Ewing Township Hall, 2500 W. Maple Ridge Road, Rock; Forsyth Township, Precinct 1, Gwinn Community Building, 165 N. Maple St., Gwinn, Precinct 2, Little Lake Gospel Chapel, 1738 E. M-35, Little Lake, and Precinct 3, K.I. Sawyer Emergency Services Building, 420 Avenue A, Gwinn; and Humboldt Township, Precinct 1, Humboldt Township Hall, Marquette County Road FA, Champion.

Also, Marquette Township, Precinct 1, St. Christopher Catholic Church basement, 2372 Badger St., Marquette, and Precinct 2, Marquette Township Community Center, 1000 Commerce Drive, Marquette; Michigamme Township, Precinct 1, Michigamme Community Center, Michigamme; Negaunee Township, Precinct 1, Negaunee Township Community Center, 42 M-35, Negaunee; Republic Township, Precinct 1, Republic Township Hall, 279 Kloman Ave., Republic; Richmond Township, Precinct 1, Richmond Township Hall, Smith Street, Palmer; Sands Township, Precinct 1, Sands Township Hall, 987 State Highway M-553, Sands; and Skandia Township, Precinct 1, Skandia Township Community Center, 224 Kreiger Drive, Skandia.

Tilden Township, Precinct 1, Tilden Township Hall, 3145 Marquette County Road PG, National Mine; Turin Township, Precinct 1, Turin Township Hall, M-35, McFarland; Wells Township, Precinct 1, Wells Township Fire Hall, 38295 Marquette County Road 426, Arnold; and West Branch Township, Precinct 1, West Branch Township Hall, 1016 Marquette County Road 545, Skandia.

Also, city of Ishpeming, Precinct 1, Birchview Elementary School, 663 Poplar St., Ishpeming, and Precinct 2, Ishpeming Senior Center, 320 S. Pine St., Ishpeming; city of Marquette, Precincts 1, 2 and 3, Baraga Gym, 300 W. Spring St., Marquette, Precinct 4, Municipal Service Center, 1100 Wright St., Marquette,and Precincts 5, 6 and 7, YMCA of Marquette County, 401 E. Fair St., Marquette; and city of Negaunee, Precinct 1, Negaunee Senior Center, 410 Jackson St., Negaunee, and Precinct 2, Lakeview School, Croix Street, Negaunee.

Also on the ballot will be the following local proposals: Chocolay Township, road improvement millage proposal; Humboldt Township, road millage renewal and additional road millage; Negaunee Township, road improvement program millage; and city of Negaunee, parks and recreation millage renewal request, and capital equipment millage renewal request.

Christie Bleck can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 250. Her email address is cbleck@miningjournal.net.