12 area players earn Special, Honorable Mention

By Journal Sports Staff

MARQUETTE — A dozen area boys basketball players earned Special Mention or Honorable Mention when the Upper Peninsula Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association convened for its spring meeting Wednesday at Northern Michigan University.

The players came from seven schools.

Here are the honorees, listed with school, height and year in school:

Special Mention

Class A-B-C — Cade Contreras, Munising, 6-0, Jr.; Alec Blank, Munising, 6-0, Jr.; Joe Ostrowsky, Marquette, 5-9, Fr.; Reed Wiedenhoefer, Gwinn, 6-4, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Class A-B-C — Garrett Finkbeiner, Marquette, 6-1, Sr.; Ian Ogea, Marquette, 5-8, Sr.; Tucker Taylor, Gwinn, 6-4, So.; Dondre Yohe, Ishpeming, 6-3, Jr.; George Sevarns, Newberry, 6-1, Jr.; Brandt Tembreull, L’Anse, 6-4, Sr.

Class D — Beau Rondeau, Superior Central, 5-10, So.; Joe Heinonen, Superior Central, 6-4, Jr.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.