4 hockey Wildcats earn WCHA awards

By Journal Sports Staff

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. — Another good season for the Northern Michigan University hockey team has resulted in multiple award winners from the WCHA.

Three Wildcats made the All-WCHA First Team with another earning a spot on the Second Team.

Northern senior forward Troy Loggins, junior defenseman Phil Beaulieu and senior goaltender Atte Tolvanen were First Team honorees, while senior center Adam Rockwood made it onto the Second Team.

Loggins led the conference in WCHA games with 20 goals and 12 assists in 28 games as he had 23 goals and 39 points overall.

Beaulieu led the league in WCHA game with 22 assists, recording 28 in all games to give him an overall total of 34 points.

Tolvanen, who was named WCHA Goaltender of the Year last season, earned his First Team spot this season after leading the conference with 18 WCHA wins, five shutouts and 699 saves in 28 games.

This season, he also became NMU’s all-time career shutouts, saves and games played leader.

Other players named to the First Team were Lake Superior State forward Diego Cuglietta, Minnesota State forward Marc Michaelis and Ferris State defenseman Cooper Zech. Loggins, Cuglietta and Michaelis are now finalists for WCHA Offensive Player of the Year, while Beaulieu and Zech are the finalists for Defensive Player of the Year.

Rockwood finished second to Beaulieu with 21 assists in league play, while overall notching 26 assists and 33 points. He was joined on the Second Team by Minnesota State forward Parker Tuomie and goaltender Dryden McKay, Bowling Green State forward Brandon Kruse and defenseman Alec Rauhauser, as well as Bemidji State blueliner Justin Baudry.

The Third Team included LSSU forwards Anthony Nellis and Max Humitz, Minnesota State defensemen Connor Mackey and Ian Scheid, Alaska Fairbanks forward Steven Jandric and BGSU goalie Ryan Bednard.

Finally, the Rookie Team had Zech, McKay and fellow MSU freshman Julian Napravnik, Michigan Tech forward Brian Halonen and Alaska’s Chris Jandric. Bemidji’s Owen Sillinger and LSSU’s Ashton Calder finished in a tie, so both earned spots on the squad.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Writer Ryan Stieg. His email address is rstieg@miningjournal.net.v