Swajanen leads 5 Marquette honorees in GNC softball

Marquette pitcher Charlye Swajanen resets herself before a pitch late in the second game of a high school softball doubleheader played against Calumet at Lions Field in Marquette on Friday, April 26, 2024. (Journal photo by Caden Sierra)

By Journal Sports Staff

MARQUETTE — Led by freshman infielder Charlye Swajanen, five Marquette players earned postseason honors from the Great Northern Conference in softball as recently selected by league coaches.

Swajanen, who also pitches, was named to the All-GNC First Team, one of 13 players from the conference’s five schools earning that honor.

In addition, MSHS junior infielder Cecelia Fuller made the GNC Second Team, while senior infielder Jayden Raymond, junior infielder Halle Haynes and junior catcher Layla Haynes earned Honorable Mention.

Sentinels head coach Derek Swajanen also reported that Charlye Swajanen was named to the Michigan High School Coaches Association’s All-District team.

Delta County neighbors Escanaba and Gladstone swept the league’s six special awards. Esky’s Grayson LaMarche was named Player of the Year, while teammate Carly Bowden was Defensive Player of the Year. Eskymos mentor Andy Fields earned Coach of the Year, while EHS earned Team of the Year.

For Gladstone, Lauren Sundquist was named Offensive Player of the Year, while the Braves’ Montgomery Pepin got Pitcher of the Year.

Here are the other GNC award winners:

First Team — Anna Bortolini, Kingsford; Anna Boutilier, Escanaba; McKenzie Engerbretson, Escanaba; Katey Lamb, Escanaba; Mady Barker, Menominee; Kayden Olsen, Menominee; Ady Weber, Kingsford; Carley McInerney, Escanaba; Reese Herioux, Gladstone; Samantha Orielick, Gladstone; Clara Braun, Escanaba; Kayleigh Sundquist, Kingsford

Second Team — Harlee Coolman, Escanaba; Riley Gerow, Gladstone; Madison Sundquist, Gladstone; Eden Janovsek, Kingsford; Adyson Kriegl, Kingsford; McKenna Trulock, Kingsford; Emma Trombly, Gladstone; Phoebe Barrett, Menominee; Maddie Jungler, Kingsford; Madison Mott, Escanaba

Honorable Mention — Elena Murphy, Menominee; Addy Johnson, Menominee; Allison Larson, Gladstone; Brooke Pendergraft, Gladstone; Taylor Forvilly, Escanaba; Jenna Viau, Kingsford; Kamryn Olsen, Menominee

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today