West PAC honors several local players

By Journal Sports Staff

L’ANSE — The West PAC girls volleyball All-Conference teams were recently announced and a few local athletes earned awards.

Gwinn had two honorees as Brooke Mannor and Emily Curtice were named to the West PAC First Team and Second Team respectively. Negaunee’s Chloe Norman was also named to the First Team, while Ishpeming’s Madison Pruett and L’Anse’s Haley Nankervis were both named to the Second Team.

Iron Mountain had four players make the First Team with Hanna Ellis, Riley Poupore, Jacqui Rollins and Emma Thomann.

The other spots were taken up by Copper Country players as Calumet’s Ellie Djerf and Molly Larson both made the squad along with Houghton’s Jaycie Ruotsala and Casana Ryynanen.

The Second Team was also packed with players from the Keweenaw with Houghton’s Deja Brule and Daityn Markham, Hancock’s Karena Holmstrom and Maddie Johnson and Calumet’s Andrea Kariniemi all earning spots.

Also making the Second Team were West Iron County’s Courtney Reitmeyer and Iron Mountain’s Mackenzie Swanson.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Writer Ryan Stieg. His email address is rstieg@miningjournal.net.