Wawonowin Country Club crowns men’s club champions

Ryan Tunteri
Mike Nelson

Winners of club championships at Wawonowin Country Club that were decided on Labor Day are shown, Ryan Tunteri, left, in the Men’s Club Championship, and Mike Nelson

in the Senior Men’s Championship. Tunteri defeated Nash Soli in his final after 16 golfers started the weekend. After whittling the field to eight for Sunday’s quarterfinals, Soli defeated Mark Clements, KC Saari defeated Mike Guenette, Tunteri defeated Jordan Mason and Steve Hintsala defeated Rob Carlson. Later that day in the semifinals, Soli defeated Saari and Tunteri defeated Hintsala. Other flight winners were, first flight, Scott Saari; second, Matt Adamczyk; third, Mark Burke; fourth, Jim Pfluger; fifth, Tom Talsma; sixth, Scott Skytta; and seventh, Rick Stetson. Nelson retained his senior title, defeating Tom Hammar in the finals. Nelson, as defending champion, joined 15 others who qualified the previous weekend in the event. The first round of match play cut the field to eight for the quarterfinals, where on Saturday Nelson defeated Dan Swanson, Miles Buck defeated Clyde Nyman, Hammar defeated Steve Swentick and Scott Bjork defeated Lowell Anderson. In Sunday’s semifinals, Nelson defeated Buck and Hammar defeated Bjork to reach the championship match. Bob Yohe was winner of the Senior Men’s first flight. (Submitted photos)