Mustang honors: 4 Munising boys basketball players earn Skyline Central Conference awards

Munising players in dark uniforms, from left, Trevor Nolan, Cully Trzeciak, Jack Dusseault and Carson Kienitz, line up for an inbounds pass against a set of Jeffers players during their MHSAA Division 4 quarterfinal boys basketball game played at Lakeview Memorial Gymnasium in Negaunee on March 21, 2023. Nolan, Dusseault and Kienitz were named to the Skyline Central Conference First Team recently. (Photo courtesy Cara Kamps)

ESCANABA — A trio of juniors named to the First Team were among four Munising boys basketball players honored by the Skyline Central Conference when coaches voted on their all-league players in March.

Trevor Nolan, Jack Dusseault and Carson Kienitz were among the eight players named to the First Team as the Mustangs were the only school with more than one player named to the league’s top honor squad.

Munising senior Tyler Nelson was also named to the Honorable Mention list as each of these four players also earned a second honor.

Kienitz and Dusseault were named to the Skyline Central All-Defensive Team, Nelson earned the league’s Individual Sportsmanship Award and Nolan won the SCC’s Free Throw Award.

Norway’s Alex Ortman was named the Skyline Central Player of the Year, while the Knights’ Jeff Fallino was voted Coach of the Year.

Munising's Trevor Nolan, right, is defended by Ishpeming's Hunter Smith in the third quarter of their high school boys basketball game held at the Hematites’ gym in Ishpeming on Dec. 28. (Photo courtesy Cara Kamps)

And North Dickinson won Team Sportsmanship of the Year.


Here are the league’s other honors:

First Team — Kevin Giullani, Forest Park; Spencer Kramer, North Dickinson; Cole Baij, Norway; Blake Lundquist, Rapid River; Owen Kuehnau, Stephenson

Second Team — Sam Salo, Carney-Nadeau; Ethan Ives, Bark River-Harris; Ian Popp, Norway; Gavin Rintula, Forest Park; Jake Poquette, North Central; Hunter Robinson, North Central; Zach Schwartz, Stephenson

Munising's Tyler Nelson, center, tries to drive for the net but is met by Ishpeming’s Grady Gauthier during their high school boys basketball game held at the Hematites’ gym in Ishpeming on Dec. 28. (Photo courtesy Cara Kamps)

All-Defensive Team — Logan Johnson, Carney-Nadeau; Felix Quevedo, Forest Park; Jacob Gorzinski, North Central; Lane Gorzinski, North Central; Trent Kraemer, North Dickinson

Honorable Mention — Felix Quevedo, Forest Park; Vic Giuliani, Forest Park; Jacob Gorzinski, North Central; Brady Jungwirth, North Dickinson; Ty King, North Dickinson; Trent Kraemer, North Dickinson; Mason Trudeau, Norway; Bryce Cass, Stephenson

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today