Half dozen Michigan Wolverines football players honored as Associated Press All-Big Ten First Team

Ohio State receiver Marvin Harrison Jr. is The Associated Press Big Ten offensive player of the year, Illinois end Jer’Zhan Newton is defensive player of the year and Northwestern’s David Braun is coach of the year.

Harrison is a unanimous AP All-Big Ten first-team pick for the second straight year. Newton, Michigan offensive lineman Zak Zinter and Iowa punter Tory Taylor are the other unanimous first-team selections by the voting panel of 23 media members who cover the conference.

The first team includes six players from Michigan.

Wolverines running back Blake Corum and Zinter also were on the first team in 2022. Teammates joining them on the first team are center Drake Nugent, quarterback J.J. McCarthy, defensive tackle Kris Jenkins and cornerback Mike Sainristil.

On the second team are U-M wide receiver Roman Wilson, offensive tackle LaDarius Henderson, guard Trevor Keegan, tight end Colston Loveland, kicker James Turner, defensive tackle Mason Graham, linebacker Junior Colson and cornerback Will Johnson.

Michigan State’s lone representative is punter Ryan Eckley on the second team.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today