Evan Gauthier tops in Negaunee Miners’ half dozen players on West PAC baseball honors list

GWINN — Led by co-Player of the Year Evan Gauthier, six Negaunee players earned honors when conference coaches voted on their West PAC baseball awards recently.

Gauthier, a junior, shared the Player of the Year honor with Houghton senior Gaborik Carlson.

Negaunee was the only area team mentioned on the honors list.

A pair of Miners won spots on the West PAC First Team, senior Keith Juidici and junior Braiden Noskey.

Two more Negaunee players made it on the Second Team — junior Howard Johnson and senior Eli VanBuren.

And one more Miner earned Honorable Mention, sophomore Ian Engstrom, to make it an even half-dozen in the bright lights from Negaunee.

Iron Mountain senior Carson McLean was named conference Pitcher of the Year, while Houghton’s Kevin Bostwick earned Coach of the Year.


Here are the other West PAC honorees, with year and school:

First Team — Carson McLean, sr., Iron Mountain; Evan Haferkorn, sr., IM; Cam Cischke, sr., Houghton; Eli Heathman, soph., Houghton; Ned Larson, soph., Hancock; Bryce Tanner, jr., Hancock; Bruce Parisot, sr., Calumet

Second Team — Alex Tarnowski, jr., Calumet; Caleb Isaacson, fresh., Hancock; Bryce Pugh, jr., Houghton; Niko Burgoon, jr., IM; Braden Cima, sr., Calumet; Luke Mikkola, jr., Hancock; Zach Geborkoff, jr., Hancock

Honorable Mention — Joel Durocher, fresh., Houghton; Brayden Larson, fresh., Hancock; Ian Marttila, soph., IM; Levi Kilpela, sr., Calumet

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today