Swim, swam, sweep: Northern Michigan University swimmers & divers pull off sweep at NCAA Division I Wisconsin-Green Bay

Northern Michigan University women's swimmer Zoe DeKievit swims during a Wildcats' meet earlier this season at NMU's PEIF pool in Marquette. (Photo courtesy NMU)

GREEN BAY, Wis. — Northern Michigan University achieved

a first in program history when it defeated NCAA Division I Wisconsin-Green Bay at its own pool during a college swimming and diving meet held Friday.

While the Wildcats have bested the Phoenix before, it had never happened in Green Bay’s pool.

The NMU women won 196-104 while the men came out on top 160-138 for a combined teams’ 356-242 total.

These Wildcats teams return to Marquette for their final home event this season to compete against the Michigan Tech club teams and also conduct the Wildcat Skins intrasquad competition at 3:30 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 4.

At the UW-Green Bay meet, the most prolific winner for Northern was Olivia Haerr, who had four victories, two in individual events and two in relays.

Olivia Haerr

She won the 50- and 100-yard freestyle and swam a leg in both winning relays, the 400 medley and 200 free.

Haerr won the 50 free in 24.81 seconds, just one-hundredth of a second ahead of teammate Michaela Nelson, who had three victories herself. In fact, NMU swept the top five places in the event — Donna Hannig was third, Joanne Arbic fourth and Emilia Morris fifth — as the quintet was separated by just 0.87 of a second.

Haerr also clocked 53.43 in the 100, then joined Camilla Carbone, Zoe DeKievit and Meritxell Font-Cantarero to win the 400 medley relay in 3:55.22.

Haerr also teamed up with Nelson, Hannig and Pilar Perello-Ferrer to win the 200 free relay in 1:38.61.

Nelson got her other two victories in the 200 free in 1:55.42 and 500 free in 5:13.76.

Also tripling up was DeKievit, who added wins in the 100 breaststroke in 1:06.39 and 200 breast in 2:24.29.

And there was also Font-Cantarero taking the 100 butterfly in 57.15 and 200 fly in 2:06.92.

Other women’s winners were Carbone in the 100 backstroke in 58.58, Faith Sill in the 200 backstroke in 2:07.37 and Jenna Joerger in the 200 individual medley in 2:10.39.

The Wildcats men had four double winners. Ondrej Zach won the 500 free in 4:46.54 and 1,000 free in 9:44.54, Thibault Auger the 100 back in 52.40 and 200 back in 1:54.28, Roberto Camera the 100 breast in 56.98 and 200 breast in 2:07.22, and Leo Nolles the 50 free in 21.06 and 100 free in 46.04.

In addition, NMU’s Hudson Lowery won the 200 fly in 1:55.08.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today