Munising, Superior Central split Skyline Central Conference girls basketball awards

Munising’s Jenna Matson, left, is guarded by Gwinn’s Lena Pleaugh in a game played at the Modeltowners’ gym on Jan. 4. (Journal photo by Travis Nelson)

MUNISING — Seven players from Alger County — four from Munising and three from Superior Central — earned a total of 10 individual awards when the Skyline Central Conference recently named its girls basketball honors.

The Mustangs and Cougars split the Alger County awards right down the middle, five for each school, after voting by the SCC coaches.

But the biggest award was probably claimed by Munising senior Jenna Matson, who was named both the co-Defensive Player of the Year along with Carney-Nadeau senior Tessa Wagner, and a unanimously chosen member of the league’s First Team.

Two Superior Central players, though, were also double winners — seniors Emma Rutter and Riley Johnson both made the All-Defensive Team, Rutter unanimously, and both also made the league’s First Team.

Also from SC, senior Charlotte Charlebois earned the Free Throw Award.

Munising's Jenna Matson, below, looks to put up a layup as Carney-Nadeau's Carley Messersmith, left, and Tessa Wagner defend during the third quarter of an MHSAA Division 4 girls basketball regional semifinal game played March 29, 2021, at Westwood High School. (Journal file photo)

And from Munising, freshman Bailey Corcoran was named to the league’s Second Team, while sophomore teammate Emerson Crisp made Honorable Mention.

In addition, Mustangs senior Lori Mattson was voted the Individual Sportsmanship Award.

In the team division, Munising won the JV championship in the Large Schools Division.

Other major award winners included Wagner and senior Ashton Hord of North Dickinson sharing the Player of the Year honors, while ND’s Kirk Mattson won the Coach of the Year.

Bark River-Harris won the varsity championship for Large Schools, while C-N carried off the same hardware for Small Schools.

And Rapid River earned the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Here are the other league honorees with year and school:

First Team — Cara Zawacki, sr., Bark River-Harris (unanimous); Andi Carlson, jr., Norway; Chrislyn Inglese, sr., North Dickinson; Shea Linder, jr., Carney-Nadeau; Gracie Peterson, sr., Forest Park

Second Team — Lauren Zawada, soph., BR-H; Gracie Kleikamp, soph., North Central; Micah Lindholm, jr., ND; Aspen Fredrick, sr., BR-H; Megan Dausey, jr., Rapid River; Grace Maule, fr., C-N

Honorable Mention — Mckenzie Hoffmeyer, soph., BR-H; Sam Burton, soph., NC; Vanessa Lindholm, sr., ND; Averie Popp, sr., Norway; Kassidy Havelka, jr., Stephenson; Allie Cappaert, sr., Stephenson

All-Defensive Team — Ashton Hord, ND (unanimous); Cara Zawacki, BR-H (unanimous); Hannah Burklund, Norway (unanimous); Zoe LaBonte, NC; Aspen Fredrick, BR-H; Chrislyn Inglese, ND

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today