Ishpeming’s Lola Korpi leads area’s lengthy list in All-Upper Peninsula cross country

Across the front from left, Marquette's Brady Ketzenberger, Colin VanderSchaaf and Luke Janofski run with Houghton's Isaiah Lawson during the Division 1 boys race at the MHSAA Upper Peninsula Finals cross country meet held at Gentz's Homestead Golf Course in Chocolay Township outside of Harvey last Saturday. (Photo courtesy Cara Kamps)

MARQUETTE — Led in numbers by Marquette, area schools did quite well when All-Upper Peninsula honors were announced earlier this week in high school cross country.

The Redmen were named boys Team of the Year in Division 1, while long-time MSHS coach Kyle Detmers was honored with Coach of the Year in Division 1.

In addition, Ishpeming sophomore Lola Korpi was named the all-division Girls Runner of the Year, while Munising was named girls Team of the Year in Division 3.

That was just the tip of the iceberg, though.

Korpi headed up the U.P. Dream Team, where she was joined by Newberry’s Kaylen Clark.

Ishpeming's Lola Korpi approaches the finish line as she won the Division 2 girls race at the MHSAA Upper Peninsula Finals cross country meet held at Gentz's Homestead Golf Course in Chocolay Township outside of Harvey last Saturday. (Ironwood Daily Globe photo by Jason Juno)

All-state was the next level of honors with another 15 area girls from eight schools honored.

In Division 1, they were Monet Argeropoulos, Tessa Bruns and Courtney Larson of Marquette; Marlee Plaxco and Lauren Ossenheimer of Negaunee; and Retta Boburka of Westwood.

For Division 2, Korpi was joined by Ishpeming teammates Laynie Korpi and Taylor Longtine. Also lauded were Ellie Delene of Baraga and Calista Watchhorn of Manistique.

And in Division 3, Munising had honorees in Monique Brisson, Jenna Matson, Hattie Cota and Sabryna Smith, while Newberry had Clark and Jorja Suriano.

Earning All-U.P. honors were Marquette’s Zared Smith, Abby Harma and Jordann Stephenson and Negaunee’s Endla Harris.

The boys had even more area runners honored as 17 made the lists from seven schools.

Gladstone’s Drew Hughes, the Boys Runner of the Year, also headed up the boys’ Dream Team and among those joining him were Marquette’s Carson VanderSchaaf and Luke Janofski.

The Redmen duo was joined on the All-State team in Division 1 by teammates Brady Ketzenberger, Cullen Papin and Chase Thomsen. And Negaunee’s Judge Anderson earned this distinction in D-1, too.

In Division 2, All-State honors went to Levi Nicholls of Ishpeming and Ben Gilroy, Grant Mason and Austin Mischell of Manistique.

For Division 3, All-State platitudes went out to Trevor Nolan and Kaelan Mulye of Munising, Jacob Dunden of Republic-Michigamme and Claudio Bistolfi of Newberry.

Three more runners earned All-U.P. for the boys — Adam White and Colin VanderSchaaf of Marquette and James Dank of Negaunee.

The other Coach of the Year winners were Sam Kilpela of Jeffers in Division 2 and Matt Zimmer of Dollar Bay in Division 3.

Other Teams of the Year included the Houghton girls in Division 1, Jeffers boys and Hancock girls in Division 2 and DB boys in Division 3.

Here are the other various All-U.P. honorees:



Dream Team — Natalie Stone, Gogebic; Cassandra Gallagher, Sault Ste. Marie; Ingrid Seagren and Claire Filpus, Houghton; and Landry Koski, Mid Peninsula


Division 1: Ingrid Seagren, Claire Filpus and Paige Sleeman, Houghton; Cassandra Gallagher and Anna Hildebrand, Sault Ste. Marie; Attica Brandt, Menominee; Kiira Berg, Calumet; Ciara Ostrenga, Escanaba; and Samantha Strasler, Gladstone

Division 2: Sierrah Driscoll, Adia Keranen, Ella Keranen and Maylie Kilpela, Hancock; Aubrey Smith and Lilley Smith, Ironwood; Natalie Stone and Nya Hewitt, Gogebic; Mariano Zaragoza and Kylee Peters, St. Ignace

Division 3: Landry Koski, Mid Peninsula; Taryn Maki, Dollar Bay; Makenna Uotila, Ontonagon; Lily Etelamaki, Chassell; Leah French and Leah Gould, Engadine; Haley Cornwell, Pickford; Lilianna Cason, Cedarville-DeTour; and Kayela Putnam, Stephenson

All-U.P. — Kiira Niiska, Houghton; and Jamisyn Bergeron, Gladstone



Dream Team — Nik Thomas, Dollar Bay; Jonah Nordine, Ewen-Trout Creek; Cody Aldridge, Sault Ste. Marie; and Eric Weiss, Houghton


Division 1: Drew Hughes, Gladstone; Cody Aldridge, Logan Haskins, Jonathan Willis, Kahle Jones and Kyle Pine, Sault Ste. Marie; Eric Weiss and Tom Knewtson, Houghton; and Luke Ruble, Kingsford

Division 2 — Simon Barp, Benton Rajala, Brit Heinonen and Tavin Larson, Jeffers; Tyler Smith, Joey Lauzon and Alexander Korpela, Ironwood; Landon Sundelius and John Swenski, West Iron County; and Carter Sackett, St. Ignace.

Division 3 — Jonah Nordin, Ewen-Trout Creek; Nik Thomas, Amos Norland and Cooper Stout, Dollar Bay; Griffin Brown and Buckley Corey, Stephenson; Bo Martini and Riley Parish, Brimley; Conrad Spieles, Engadine; Kalvin Kytta, Chassell; and Brodie Hunt, Rudyard

All-U.P. — Kiira Niiska, Houghton; and Jamisyn Bergeron, Gladstone

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today