Republic-Michigamme’s Isaac Lawrence, Baraga’s Ellie Delene, Jaylyne Lindemann win Division 3 events at Upper Peninsula Finals in track & field

Republic-Michigamme's Isaac Lawrence, third from right, takes second place in the Division 3 boys 200-meter dash behind Powers North Central Luke Gorzinski, center, by two-hundredths of a second at the MHSAA Upper Peninsula Finals in track and field held at Kingsford High School on Saturday, June 5, 2021. Munising's Micaiah Peramaki, just left of Gorzinski, finished third. (Photo courtesy Cara Kamps)

KINGSFORD — Three area athletes won events and a number of others placed in the top six to score points for their teams at the MHSAA Upper Peninsula Division 3 Finals in track and field at Kingsford High School on Saturday.

The Dollar Bay boys were crowned U.P. champions for the first time in school history with 67 points, followed by Pickford 55 and Rapid River 47.

Republic-Michigamme finished eighth with 32 points, Munising was 14th with 17 and Superior Central came in 21st with 1 1/2.

R-M’s Isaac Lawrence won the long jump with a leap of 20 feet, 2 inches while placing second in the 200-meter dash in 23.31 seconds and third in the 100 in 11.69.

The Hawks’ Samuel Dyer was fourth in the 400 (53.62), while R-M’s 1,600 relay was fourth in 3:50.90. That team included Gabe DuPont, Jacob Durden, Dyer and Lawrence.

Munising’s Micaiah Peramaki was second in the 100 (11.68) and third in the 200 (23.6). He also anchored the Mustangs’ sixth-place 400 relay in 47.87 seconds, joining Matthew Lindquist, Reece Cotey and Alex VanZandt.

Munising’s Reagan Bowerman was fifth in the pole vault after clearing 10 feet. He actually was part of a four-way tie for third, but finished fifth due to tiebreakers.

And Superior Central’s Zach Frusti tied for fifth in the long jump with a leap of 18-9 1/2.

The Ontonagon girls won for the first time in five years with 73 points, followed by Rudyard with 64 and Stephenson 54 1/2.

Baraga was ninth with 30 points, R-M 13th with 14 and Munising 15th with nine.

The Vikings had two winners. Ellie Delene won the high jump after clearing 4-11, while Jaylyne Lindemann was victorious the shot put with a heave of 32-8. Lindemann was also second in the discus with 95-8.

Baraga’s Makenna Hendrickson was sixth in the 200 in 29.54 seconds, while the Vikings’ 400 relay was sixth in 57.99 with Hendrickson, Jaycee Larson, Kylie Michaelson and Corina Jahfetson.

R-M’s Leah McCracken was runner-up in shot put to Lindemann by just one inch with 32-7, while she was also third in the discus in 94-2.

Munising’s Sabryna Smith took fourth in the 400 in 1:05.77 and sixth in the 100 in 14.00, while the Mustangs were fourth in the 1,600 relay in 4:46.24 with members Valerie Johnson, Jenna Matson, Monique Brisson and Smith.

Information compiled by Journal Special Contributor John Vrancic and Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. Email Brownlee at sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today