Area basketball trio atop West PAC also called best among Mid-Peninsula Conference boys

Ishpeming’s Jayce Kipling, right, grabs a rebound over Iron Mountain’s Jurgen Kleiman at the Hematites gym in Ishpeming on March 5. (Photo courtesy Daryl T. Jarvinen)

ISHPEMING — Three players who recently made up the elite Dream Team in West PAC boys basketball are also among the best as the Mid-Peninsula Conference has named its awards in the same sport.

Senior Eli Luokkala of Negaunee, junior Zach Carlson of Westwood and senior Reid Hill of Gwinn are a majority of the First Team in the M-PC.

After that, there were some similarities but also some differences from the West PAC awards.

That shouldn’t be too surprising since Negaunee, Ishpeming, Westwood, Gwinn and Iron Mountain are members of both leagues, but Manistique and Gladstone are only in the M-PC and Houghton, Hancock, Calumet and West Iron County are only in the West PAC.

M-PC Second Team members include senior Will Luke of Negaunee, junior Zach Beckman of Westwood and junior Jayce Kipling of Ishpeming.

Making honorable mention were Gwinn senior James Harnick, Negaunee junior Gerald Johnson and Manistique seniors Sammy Warren and Wyatt Gierke.

The league’s All-Defensive Team includes Carlson, Luke, Gierke and Gwinn senior Mastin Love.

As he was in the West PAC, Iron Mountain senior Foster Wonders was named Player of the Year in the M-PC.

Here are the balance of honorees in the M-PC with year and school:

First Team — Cam Ballard, sr., Gladstone; Bryce Pietrantonio, sr., Iron Mountain

Second Team — Hunter Potier, jr., Gladstone; Ricky Brown, sr, IM

Honorable mention — Rane Castor, sr., Gladstone

All-Defensive Team — Pietrantonio, IM

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today