Northern Michigan University ski coach Sten Fjeldheim adds more Coach of the Year honors

Sten Fjeldheim

MARQUETTE — Sten Fjeldheim added another feather to his cap recently.

The Northern Michigan University Nordic ski head coach was again named the Central Collegiate Ski Association men’s and women’s Coach of the Year.

This marks his eighth CCSA Women’s Coach of the Year award and fifth on the men’s side.

Those Wildcat teams won CCSA team title as well as men’s, women’s and overall NCAA Central Region championships this winter.

NMU finished fourth overall in the Nordic standings at the NCAA Skiing Championships. The women’s team was third and men fifth.

Northern senior Zak Ketterson won both men’s races at the CCSA Championships with graduate student teammate Kjetil Baanerud second in each.

Wildcats’ sophomore Hilde Eide was third in the five-kilometer women’s race, while NMU’s 1-2-3 sweep in the 15K was led by freshman Pearl Harvey with the win.

NMU also collected five All-America honors at the NCAA Championships as Molly Miller earned two and Malin Boerjesjoe one. Both are sophomores on the women’s team. Also earning All-America laurels were Ketterson and Baanerud on the men’s side.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal. net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today