WCHA honors all-time top players, coaches

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. — The Men’s League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association will celebrate seven decades of history this season, the league announced on Thursday.

Starting in December, the league will announce a series of All-Decade Teams along with a Coach and Player of the Decade for each decade from the 1950s through the 2010s.

Current and former WCHA members submitted nearly 200 players and coaches for consideration. Honorees will be selected by a panel of WCHA staff and media members who have covered the league.

“As the oldest and most historic college hockey league in the NCAA, the Western Collegiate Hockey Association has established ‘A Tradition of Excellence’ since its founding in 1951,” WCHA Men’s League Commissioner Bill Robertson said. “Our alumni include some of the greatest players in intercollegiate, amateur and professional hockey and we are excited to recognize their excellence during the years they competed in the WCHA.”

Home to a record 37 national championships, 16 Hobey Baker Award winners, 407 All-Americans, more than 450 National Hockey League players and over 100 Olympians, the WCHA has been one of the most successful and decorated leagues in intercollegiate hockey.

The league will announce its 1950s honorees during the first week of December and will follow with the remaining six decades on a biweekly basis beginning with the 1960s during the week of Jan. 4.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today