Newberry’s Katie Rahilly named top girls basketball defender in Eastern U.P. Conference

NEWBERRY — Junior Katie Rahilly was easily the most prominent honoree from the Newberry High School girls basketball team when the Straits Area and Eastern Upper Peninsula conferences announced their awards in March.

Newberry is a member of both leagues.

Rahilly was named Second Team all-conference in both leagues while also earning Defensive Player of the Year in the EUP.

She was cited for averaging 12.5 points, 4.8 rebounds, 5.2 steals and 3.3 assists per game.

Rahilly was also named a Division 4 honorable mention when All-Upper Peninsula awards were announced earlier this month.

Also recognized for the Indians was sophomore Bailey Zellar, who earned honorable mention in the EUP.

Engadine senior Sophia Vaughn was named Player of the Year in the EUP as she averaged 21.5 ppg, while Julia Beaumont of Sault Ste. Marie and Hallie Marshall of St. Ignace split the same Straits Area award.

St. Ignace’s Emmalee Hart was named Straits Area’s Defensive Player of the Year.

In All-U.P. balloting, Marshall was named Division 4 Player of the Year, while Vaughn made the D-4 First Team and Beaumont the Divisions 1-3 Second Team.

Here are the other honorees, listed with year and school:



First Team — Elysia Causley, jr., Cedarville; Kennedy Guild, soph., Pickford; Taylor Williams, fresh., Cedarville; Victoria Aikens, sr., Brimley; Lizzie Storey, soph., Pickford

Second Team — Tomissa Archambeau, sr., Brimley; Sara Beelen, jr., Rudyard; Sierra Burton, sr., DeTour; Darcy Bennin, sr., Pickford

Honorable mention — Brooklyn Besteman, soph., Rudyard; Izzy Kopsi, sr., Engadine; Cassidy Barr, jr., Cedarville; Sadie McGuire, soph., Brimley



First Team — Julia Beaumont, sr., Sault Ste. Marie; Hallie Marshall, jr., St. Ignace; Ally Schultz, soph., St. Ignace; Emmalee Hart, jr., St. Ignace; Lilly Alaspa, jr., Sault Ste. Marie; Claire Erickson, fresh., Sault Ste. Marie; Isabelle Buhr, jr., Cheboygan

Second Team — Jordan Scott, sr., Sault Ste. Marie; Tessa Shepard, sr., St. Ignace; Brooklynn Besteman, soph., Rudyard; Sara Beelen, jr., Rudyard

All-Defensive Team — Hart, St. Ignace; Haleigh Knowles, jr., Sault Ste. Marie; Schultz, soph., St. Ignace; Beaumont, Sault Ste. Marie; Buhr, Cheboygan

Honorable mention — Olivia Chamberlain, soph., Cheboygan; Anna Hart, sr., St. Ignace; Lilli Keglar, jr., Sault Ste. Marie; Emily McLean, jr., Sault Ste. Marie; C.J. Salter, soph., Cheboygan; Tristan Smith, soph., Rudyard; Chesney Molina, jr., Rudyard

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today