Newberry Indians’ Luke Jordan, Logan Depew earn Eastern Upper Peninsula Conference boys basketball honors

NEWBERRY — A pair of Newberry High School boys basketball players earned honors when the Eastern Upper Peninsula Conference announced its all-league squads in March.

Senior Luke Jordan was named to the Second Team all-conference, while junior Logan Depew earned honorable mention.

Depew also earned Division 4 honorable mention when All-Upper Peninsula awards were named earlier this month.

Pickford, which won the league and compiled an 18-3 record before the MHSAA Division 4 district tournament was called off due to the coronavirus pandemic, swept the major awards.

Panthers senior Nick Edington was named Player of the Year, while senior teammate Jimmy Storey earned Defensive Player of the Year. Edington was also an All-U.P. Division 4 First Team honoree.

No corresponding Straits Area Conference honors have been available as Newberry is a member of both conferences.

Here are the rest of the EUP honorees. There was a Foreign Exchange Student category as those students aren’t eligible for regular conference honors:


First Team — Zach Gross, Brimley; Trey Paquin, Cedarville; E.J. Suggitt, Rudyard; Jimmy Storey, Pickford; Tate Besteman, Rudyard

Second Team — Ian McArthur, Engadine; Dayton Parrish, Brimley; Grant Fountain, DeTour; Blake Friisvall Rudyard

Honorable mention — Tyler Brandt, Cedarville; Kyle Gould, Engadine; Luke Batho, Blain Burnaby and Eric Huyck, Pickford; Austin Warner, Rudyard; Brandon Pomero, Brimley

Foreign Exchange Student special mention — Pedro Pardo and Michal Vigas, Engadine

Injury special mention — Hunter Dennis, Engadine

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today