L’Anse Purple Hornets’ Alex Kissel tops in honors for area players in Copper Mountain Conference boys basketball

LAKE LINDEN — Junior Alex Kissel of L’Anse earned the top accolade among area boys basketball players when the Copper Mountain Conference announced its awards near the end of the recently completed season.

Kissel made the First Team for the Porcupine Mountain Division as one of three Purple Hornets’ players honored.

His teammates joining him on the honorable mention list were senior Paul Jacobson and sophomore Eli Ostermeyer.

Republic-Michigamme junior Eli Luokkala was named to the Second Team in the Copper Country Division. More recently, he was also named as an honorable mention in All-Upper Peninsula voting.

Baraga also had one honoree as junior Steele Jondreau earned honorable mention.

Three schools split the major awards — Dollar Bay senior Ashton Janke was named Most Valuable Player, Wakefield-Marenisco senior Morgan Miskovich as Defensive Player of the Year, and DB’s Jesse Kentala and Ontonagon’s Brittany Jilbert-Turin shared Coach of the Year.

Janke was named All-U.P. Division 4 Player of the Year, while Miskovich was an All-U.P. D-4 Second Team honoree.

Here are the other award winners, with year and school:

Elite Team — Jaden Borseth, soph., Ewen-Trout Creek; Davin Hill, soph., Dollar Bay; Morgan Miskovich, Wakefield-Marenisco; Bill Rautiola, sr., Chassell; Christian Hocking, jr., Jeffers

Copper Country Division First Team — Ashton Janke, sr., DB; Hill, DB; Hocking, Jeffers; Bill Rautiola, Chassell; Karl Rautiola, soph., Chassell

Porcupine Mountain Division First Team — Borseth, E-TC; Miskovich, W-M; Anthony Metas, sr., Bessemer; Logan Latvis, sr., Ontonagon

CC Second Team — Caleb Gregoire, sr., Lake Linden-Hubbell; Connor LeClaire, jr., DB; Johnny Schutz, soph., Jeffers; William Lyons, jr., LL-H

PM Second Team — Ethan Libertoski, sr., W-M; Nick Trudgeon, sr., Bessemer; Mitchell McGeshick, jr., Watersmeet; Kelsey Jilek, E-TC; Adam Libertoski, jr., W-M; Luke Soumis, sr., Ontonagon

Honorable mention — Dean Pietila, jr., Chassell; Austin Kinnunen, sr., Jeffers; Julius Barajas, jr., Watersmeet; Riley Wroblewski, sr., Bessemer; Logan Hamel, sr., W-M

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today