Munising, Superior Central combine for 6 Skyline Central Conference boys basketball awards

Munising’s Josh Huotari attempts a shot during a Skyline Central Conference boys basketball game at Rapid River on Jan. 8. (Escanaba Daily Press photo by Austin Hemmingson)

MUNISING — Munising and Superior Central combined for a half-dozen postseason honors when the Skyline Central Conference named its boys basketball award winners recently.

The Mustangs, co-champions with Norway for the Large Schools division of the league, won five of the honors with the Cougars getting the other one.

From Munising, senior Josh Huotari was a unanimous First Team honoree along with earning a berth on the All-Defensive Team.

Two other Mustang seniors also earned honors. Austin Killips made the Second Team, while Jason Cornish joined Huotari on the All-Defensive Team.

And their freshman teammate Kane Nebel earned an all-league honorable mention nod.

Munising's Jason Cornish, left, shoots a layup against North Central's Wyatt Riley on Feb. 25 in Powers. (Escanaba Daily Press photo by Justin St. Ours)

From Superior Central, junior Parker Maki also landed an honorable mention berth.

Carney-Nadeau senior Brett LaFord was named Player of the Year, Norway’s Jeff Gallino won Coach of the Year and North Central freshman Luke Gorzinski earned Defensive Player of the Year.

Norway junior Jeff VanHolla earned the Individual Sportsmanship Award, Mid Peninsula carted off the Team Sportsmanship honor and North Dickinson senior Cameron Schultz got the Free Throw Award for having the best percentage, successfully making 83.4 percent.

C-N and North Central were crowned co-champions of the Small Schools division, Norway won the JV Large Schools title and NC the JV Small Schools.


Munising's Josh Huotari, center, puts up a shot between Bark River-Harris defenders Nick Javurek, left, and Riley Bray as the Broncos' Carter Zawacki, background, looks on during their Feb. 9, 2019, game at Harris. (Escanaba Daily Press photo by Justin St. Ours)

Here are the other award winners, with year and school:

First Team — Kody Hendricks, sr., Norway (unanimous); Tyler Sundling, sr., Rapid River; Luke Gorzinski, fresh., North Central; Beau Koffman, jr., Carney-Nadeau; Zach Englund, sr., Mid Peninsula; Tony Demars, sr., Rapid River; Cameron Schultz, sr., North Dickinson

Second Team — Noah Gorzinski, sr., North Central; Logan Parolini, jr., Norway; Keall Emmers, jr., Forest Park; Max Baumler, sr., Carney-Nadeau; Bryce Kuehnau, jr., Stephenson; Riley Bray, sr., Bark River-Harris; Tommy Showers, jr., Forest Park

Honorable mention — Nick Javurek, jr., Bark River-Harris; Trenton Wood-Keshick, jr., BR-H; Dylan Trudell, sr., Mid Peninsula; Maximus Mattson, soph., North Dickinson; Braydon Moss, sr., Rapid River

All-Defensive Team — Carter Zawacki, jr., Bark River-Harris; Zack Englund, sr., Mid Peninsula; Mike Flanagan, jr., Carney-Nadeau; Kody Hendricks, sr., Norway; Brett LaFord, sr., Carney-Nadeau; Tyler Sundling, sr., Rapid River; Bryce Kuehnau, sr., Stephenson

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal. net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)