A split at the top: Negaunee, Iron Mountain can claim best of Mid-Peninsula Conference boys basketball honors

Negaunee's Drew Lindberg, left, and Zach Carlson, right, face off in ownership of the ball while behind, Jakson Sager, right center, and Ty Alderton left center, watch in defense at Westwood High School Wednesday evening Feb. 26 2020. (Journal photo by Kat Torreano)

NEGAUNEE — Just like in the regular season, the Negaunee and Iron Mountain boys basketball teams can claim they did the best when it came to postseason honors handed out by the Mid-Peninsula Conference.

They shared the league title after each finished with 11-1 marks in the M-PC, their only losses coming against each other. That included the Miners’ 52-51 win at Iron Mountain to end the regular season on March 5.

When it comes to league awards, IM claimed the big prize as junior Foster Wonders was named Player of the Year.

But Negaunee won five awards in all to the Mountaineers’ four.

That included the Miners landing three of the five spots on the M-PC First Team — senior guards Jakson Sager, Jason Waterman and Drew Lindberg.

Manistique's Schyler Andersen, left, attempts to box out Negaunee's Jason Waterman in the third quarter of their MHSAA Division 3 district tournament game played at Lakeview Memorial Gymnasium in Negaunee on Monday. (Photo courtesy Daryl T. Jarvinen)

In addition, two more Negaunee seniors made the All-Defensive Team, guard Drew DuShane and forward Alex Munson.

IM, meanwhile, along with having Wonders as top player, added senior Marcus Johnson to the First Team and the Defensive Team and senior Tony Feira as honorable mention.

Westwood also won four honors — sophomore forward Zach Carlson to both First Team and All-Defensive Team, along with senior forward Taylor Dellangelo and senior center Ty Alderton as honorable mentions.

Ishpeming earned three awards — senior forward Jacob Kugler to the Second Team, senior guard Breck Bell to honorable mention and senior guard Ben Pruette as the lone All-Defensive Team honorable mention.

Gwinn and Manistique each had a Second Team honoree, Modeltowners junior guard-forward James Harnick and Emeralds senior Schyler Andersen.

Gladstone had the balance of awards, with junior Rane Castor making the Second Team, senior Noah Ballard earning honorable mention and senior Jared St. John being named All-Defensive.

The Braves also won the JV championship with an unblemished 12-0 league record.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)