League champ Manistique garners top Mid-Peninsula Conference volleyball awards

Gwinn’s Emily Curtice returns the ball to Westwood during an MHSAA Division 3 district tournament match on Monday evening at the Patriots’ gym. Curtice was named co-Player of the Year in the Mid-Peninsula Conference. (Journal photo by Corey Kelly)

ISHPEMING — After winning the Mid-Peninsula Conference for the second straight season, the Manistique Emeralds received their due Tuesday at the conference’s annual coaches meeting.

Manistique outside hitter Lenna Smith and Gwinn outside hitter Emily Curtice shared Player of the Year honors, while Emeralds’ coach Amy Nixon was named Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

Manistique had three players selected to the all-conference first team, including Emilee McDaniel, Kayla Muth and Erin LaBar. Joining them on the first team were Gwinn’s Marissa Delmont and Megan Ruokolainen and Negaunee’s Chloe Norman.

Gladstone’s Chloe Grenier and Manistique’s Jeanni Chartier were selected to the second team. Also selected to the second team were Negaunee’s Abbie Tollefson, Ishpeming’s Emma Poirier, Gwinn’s Tianna Taylor and Iron Mountain’s Annslee Runsat.

The all-conference defensive team consists of Manistique’s Madison Zellar, Ishpeming’s Poirier and Hannah DeLoughary, Gwinn’s Norman and Elliina Miilu and Gladstone’s Ahna Larson.

Receiving honorable mention were Westwood’s Kaitlyn Ackland, Negaunee’s Larissa Anderson, Gwinn’s Halle Beauchamp, Ishpeming’s Olivia Corp and Tia Mattila, Negaunee’s Madison Downey and Iron Mountain’s Alex Lewis.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)