Great Lakes Eight Conference honors 4 Superior Central football players

RAPID RIVER — Four Superior Central players earned honors when the 13-team Great Lakes Eight Conference football coaches met to decide league awards last week.

The Cougars’ Zach Englund was named to the all-conference team at wide receiver, while All-East Division players feted were Englund and Kyle Frusti, with teammates Collin Burnett and Parker Maki making honorable mention.

All Upper Peninsula eight-player football teams are members of the conference except Newberry.

For special awards, 9-0 North Central was named Team of the Year, the Jets’ Leo Gorzinski was Coach of the Year, Jimmy Storey of Pickford was Offensive Player of the Year, Grant Fountain of Cedarville the Defensive Player of the Year, Tommy Peltoma of Forest Park on offense and Isaac Brown of Pickford on defense the hybrid players, and Evan Hedtke of Forest Park the league’s top kicker.

Divisional Teams of the Year were NC for the West and Pickford in the East.