Championship honors: Marquette Redmen win fair share of Great Northern Conference football awards after taking title

Marquette’s Kameron Karp, left, makes a one-handed catch as teammate Collin Hicks watches during a game aginast Alpena at William R. Hart Stadium in Marquette on Oct. 4. On Monday, Karp was named Great Northern Conference return specialist of the year while Hicks was a top wide receiver-tight end. (Photo courtesy Daryl T. Jarvinen)

ESCANABA — The champions reaped many of the big awards when Great Northern Conference football coaches got together to decide postseason honors on Monday.

That champion was Marquette with a perfect 4-0 record as the 5-4 Redmen get ready for their first playoff appearance since 2014 on Friday evening at the state’s No. 1 team in Division 3, Muskegon.

Not only was Marquette named the GNC Team of the Year, but first-year coach Eric Mason earned Coach of the Year honors.

While the Redmen didn’t cart off the top offensive and defensive player laurels, they did place four on all-league offense, three on all-league defense in addition to earning two of the three special teams honors.

Doubling up was MSHS senior Drew Wyble, who was named All-GNC at wide receiver-tight end along with being named the league’s top kicker.

Marquette head coach Eric Mason talks to his team during a huddle in a game against Traverse City Central at the William R. Hart Stadium in Marquette on Sept. 6. Mason was named Coach of the Year in the Great Northern Conference on Monday. (Photo courtesy Daryl T. Jarvinen)

Junior teammate Kameron Karp earned top return specialist, too.

Also on offense, junior Brady Wright won All-GNC at running back, while senior Collin Hicks joined Wyble as an All-GNC receiver-tight end.

And on the offensive line, senior Dakota Fortin was also named all-league.

Defensively, a pair of senior linebackers earned All-GNC — Isaac Johnson and Ethan Hayes.

Joining on them on that unit was senior defensive back Jon Thomson.

Five more teammates earned honorable mention — seniors Gabe Danielkiewicz and Mike Tarr II and sophomores Desmond Mullen, Austin Ridl and Chris Ricker.

Menominee back Keagan Monroe was named Offensive Player of the Year while Escanaba senior Grant LaMarche earned Defensive Player of the Year.

The other special teams honoree was Gladstone punter Ian Schwalbach.


Here are the other GNC all-league honorees with their year and school:

Offensive back — Monroe, Menominee; Ethan Silverstone, sr., Escanaba; Josh Bruntjens, sr., Escanaba

Wide receiver-tight end — Caden Biggers, sr., Menominee; Bryant Maki, jr., Escanaba

Offensive line — Dylan Oudeans, sr., Menominee; Nick Rennie, sr., Menominee; Jacob Burch, sr., Escanaba; Garret Johnson, sr., Escanaba; Hunter Potier, soph., Gladstone

Defensive back — LaMarche, Escanaba; Monroe, Menominee; Cole Hansen, sr., Gladstone; Tyler Lawson, jr., Escanaba

Linebacker — Carter Kreski, jr., Kingsford; Ryan Polley, jr., Gladstone; Kyle Krutina, sr., Escanaba

Defensive line — Oudeans, Menominee; Ed Cardew, jr., Kingsford; Kahler Geyer, jr., Escanaba; Dayton Miron, sr., Escanaba; Riley Lamb, jr., Escanaba

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today