Negaunee Miners, Westwood Patriots softball players honored

NEGAUNEE — After winning their district and regional tournaments, it’s not surprising that the Negaunee High School softball squad dominated the all-star teams from those events.

In the regionals, in which the Miners posted a 14-1 win over Kingsley and 15-0 decision over Gladstone, Negaunee captured seven spots — Skylar Hall at pitcher, MacKenzie Karki in the outfield, Katelyn Lammi at catcher, Payton Drew at third base, Hannah Voskuhl at shortstop and Abby Nelson at an at-large position. Head coach Randy Carlson was named Regional Coach of the Year.

In the districts, the Miners had seven players honored, along with Carlson again as top coach. Of the six players that were also honored at regionals, five were honored at the same position in the districts, with Nelson earning mention at first base. In addition, Negaunee’s Mykenna Kontio was also honored in the outfield.

From Westwood, which fell to Negaunee 5-1 in the semifinals, honorees in the district were Karlie Patron at pitcher, Jillian Koski at second base, Natalie Prophet as designated player, Raija Stille as a utility player and Ellie Miller as an at-large player. The Patriots also won the district Team Sportsmanship honor.

Calumet, which fell to Negaunee 8-0 in the final, had two players named — Ellie Djerf in the outfield and Vera Peterson as an at-large player.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)