Westwood Patriots dominate West PAC girls basketball awards

Westwood’s Tessa Leece, left, drives to the basket around Gwinn’s Trisha McGuire in their girls basketball game played at Gwinn on Feb. 21. (Photo courtesy Daryl T. Jarvinen)

CALUMET — Westwood junior Tessa Leece and her coach hauled off the major hardware when West PAC high school girls basketball awards were announced recently.

Leece won both the league’s Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors, while her coach, Kurt Corcoran, was named Coach of the Year.

All that for a team that went 19-1 in the regular season, it’s only loss coming early in the season to 16-4 Negaunee.

Thirteen other area players also earned honors from the West PAC.

Headlining that group are the Dream Team recipients — junior guard Madi Koski of Westwood and senior guard MacKenzie Karki of Negaunee.

Area players made up the entire First Team Iron Division list — senior forward Abby Nelson of Negaunee, junior forward Karlie Patron of Neagunee, senior guard Maidson Pruett of Ishpeming, and junior guard Marissa Delmont and senior guard Trisha McGuire of Gwinn.

L’Anse sophomore guard Maija Rice was the area’s representative on the First Team Copper Division team.

Five more area players were named honorable mention — senior guard Hannah Voskuhl of Negaunee, junior guard Emma Poirier of Ishpeming, junior guard Kailyn Voskuhl of L’Anse, senior guard Brooke Mannor of Gwinn and sophomore center Ellie Miller of Westwood.

Here are the balance of honorees, with year, position and school:

Dream Team — Eden Golliher, jr. guard, West Iron County; Riley Poupore, sr. forward, Iron Mountain; Emily Nelson, jr. center, WIC

First Team Copper Division — Celia Kiilunen, sr. guard, Calumet; Cassie Ryynanen, sr. guard, Houghton; Taylor Sebbas, jr. forward, Hancock; Anna Malmquist, jr. guard, WIC

Honorable mention — Colbi Laturi, sr. guard, WIC; Elli Djerf, soph. guard, Calumet; Mary Ellen Trewhella, soph. guard, Houghton; D’Andra Kero, jr. guard, Hancock; Saylor Swartout, sr. guard, IM

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.