Vikings conquer in Class D

MARQUETTE — There weren’t any Marquette County players named to the All-Upper Peninsula Class D teams, but some area players did receive nice honors Wednesday at the Upper Peninsula Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association meeting.

Baraga’s 5-foot-8 senior Carsyn Osterman earned a unanimous spot on the First Team, while teammate Casey Mleko made the Second Team. Osterman missed the cut for the Dream Team, but her numbers were more than enough for the First Team.

She averaged 15.4 points, 8.7 rebounds and nine assists per game over the course of the season while racking up eight triple-doubles.

Joining Osterman on the First Team were seniors Julia Nordstrom of Jeffers, who got a unanimous nod, Forest Park’s Abby Nylund and Pickford’s Kayla Rambo. Engadine junior Aubrey Simmons earned the fifth slot.

Mleko easily earned a spot on the Second Team thanks to some solid numbers. She averaged 12.8 points, 8.5 rebounds and 5.2 steals for a Vikings’ squad that finished 19-3 to win the overall title in the Copper Mountain Conference.

Other members of the Second Team were Forest Park junior Hannah Cross and senior Becky Kolenda, Watersmeet junior Bethany Baldwin, Ewen-Trout Creek eighth-grader Elise Besonen, DeTour senior Madison Wilkie, Chassell junior Milly Allen, Bark River-Harris senior Kelsey Boucher, Wakefield-Marenisco senior Darienne Korpi and Cedarville junior Mackenzie Barr.

Ryan Stieg can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 252. His email address is rstieg@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)