Norway, Engadine earn most U.P. special awards

MARQUETTE — When it came to Upper Peninsula coaches and teams of the year awards at the U.P. Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association meeting, Marquette and Alger County teams were shut out with Norway and Engadine picking up most of them.

Norway senior Jordan Kraemer earned Class ABC Player of the Year honors as she edged out Marquette’s Amber Huebner, Newberry’s Taylor Bryant and Munising’s Frankie Mattson. Engadine’s Olivia Vaughn earned the Class D nod easily with little competition.

Knights head coach Carli Kelly cruised to the Class ABC Coach of the Year award, while Eagles boss Roger French got the Class D award in a close race with Forest Park’s Jackie Giuliani.

Finally in team competition, Engadine earned the Class D award, while St. Ignace took Class C over Munising and Houghton edged out Marquette for the AB award.

Ryan Stieg can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 252. His email address is rstieg@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)