U.P. All-Star rosters in place

26 players from area schools chosen

Calumet's Brock Poyhonen, bottom center, is tackled by Negaunee's Sam Collins, front right, as Negaunee's Shane Ring, left, converges on the play during a high school football game played Thursday, Sept. 1, 2016, at Agaissz Field in Calumet. (Houghton Daily Mining Gazette photo by George Leinonen)

MARQUETTE — More than a quarter of the players in the Upper Peinsula Football All-Star Game will be coming from area high schools.

Rosters were announced earlier this week for this summer’s event, annually held at the Superior Dome in Marquette and this year celebrating its 10th anniversary.

Out of 95 total players chosen, there were 26 from 10 schools in The Mining Journal’s daily coverage area.

The format for the game has been changed to a fantasy draft instead of its usual North-South or East-West geographical format, meaning players from the same high school might be pitted against each other on what are now the Black team and Red team.

Coaches will be selected at a later date.

Players in the game are chosen from seniors who are set to graduate this spring.

Mid-Peninsula Conference champion Negaunee led area teams with eight honorees — Brock Aho, Chandler Brown, Sam Collins, Eric Hurst, Jacob Paquet, Michael Pizziola, Shane Ring and Neal Violetta.

Gwinn, which made its first playoff appearance in 17 years, had four players named — Carter Ghiringhelli, Austyn Hollingshed, Ryan Johnson and Jalen Skinner.

Ishpeming and Newberry each had three players making it — Hematites Tanner Dellangelo, Isaac Olson and Ashok Ravindran; and Indians’ Adam Hildebrant, John Paramski and Riley Pillion.

Marquette and Superior Central earned two spots apiece — Travis Christensen and Wyatt Goodwin for the Redmen and Kody Beauchaine and A.J. Triplett for the Cougars.

And Munising, Manistique, L’Anse and Baraga each had one player — the Mustangs’ Corey Cotey, the Emeralds’ Jake Arnold, the Purple Hornets’ Caleb Scroggs and the Vikings’ Matthew Beck.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Writer Ryan Stieg. His email address is rstieg@miningjournal.net.