Attwell named winner of NATO scholarship

Deidre Attwell

SUSSEX, Wis. — The National Association of Theatre Owners of Wisconsin & Upper Peninsula named Deidre Attwell as a $2,000 scholarship recipient.

Deidre is a 2020 graduate from Marquette Senior High School. Deidre will attend Michigan State University this fall. Deidre is employed at the Thomas Theatre Group Marquette Cinemas.

This year, scholarship funds totaling $10,000 were awarded to seven movie theater employees throughout Wisconsin and the Upper Peninsula as part of the annual program.

“Theaters have always been community gathering spots,” said scholarship committee representative Jeremy Rusch ina news release. “As business owners, we have a strong desire to maintain the economic health of our communities. Our goal through this scholarship program is to provide assistance to students employed within our industry so they may further their education.”

NATO of WI/UP President George Rouman said: “This annual scholarship program represents an important part of our commitment to the communities we serve. Since the year 2000, we have allocated over $250,000 in scholarship funds, and over $1.5 million in donations to various philanthropic causes.”

The National Association of Theatre Owners is the largest trade association for motion picture exhibitors in the world.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today