Local students named to Michigan Technological University dean’s list

HOUGHTON — Michigan Tech University, in Houghton has released the Dean’s List for the 2018 fall semester. More than 1,800 students were named to the dean’s list last fall.

To be included, students must achieve a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Among the honorees are the following from the local area:

Michigan Tech University is a public research university, home to more than 7,000 students from 60 countries. Founded in 1885, the University offers more than 120 undergraduate and graduate degree programs in science and technology, engineering, forestry, business and economics, health professions, humanities, mathematics, and social sciences. Our campus in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula overlooks the Keweenaw Waterway and is just a few miles from Lake Superior.


LeAnn N. Brinker, Civil Engineering

Bradley G. Veale, Accounting

Michael P. Willig, Chemical Engineering


Thomas D. Finegan, Electrical Engineering

Erin L. Heidelberger, Materials Science and Engineering

Mya J. Maanika, Chemical Engineering

Griffin A. Pepin, Statistics

Shawn A. Peterson, Mechanical Engineering

Hunter C. Roose, Biological Sciences

Eric M. Steve, Electrical Engineering

Bryce H. Traver, Electrical Engineering

Little Lake

Erin A. Reetz, Exercise Science


Mitchell L. Connon, Biomedical Engineering

Anthony G. Custard, Finance

Patrick R. Dowling, Civil Engineering

Sarah Goble, Economics

Bethany C. Hellman, Physics

Brett R. Kurzawa, Computer Science

Sam H. Lakenen, Mechanical Engineering

Ethan S. Lang, Environmental Engineering

Sarah B. Lorenz, Biomedical Engineering

Patrick G. McCommons, Computer Engineering

Dawson H. McKenzie, Computer Science

Emma S. Melchiori, Engineering Management

Benjamin J. Mohrhardt, Environmental Engineering

Chelsea L. Morin, Mechanical Engineering

Justin R. Moyle, Mechanical Engineering

Anna M. Palmcook, General Engineering

Katie C. Palmcook, Civil Engineering

Erik C. Puskala, General Engineering

Shawn R. Pyykola, Computer Engineering

Ashlyn M. Steer, Chemical Engineering

Piersan E. Suriano, Biological Sciences

Ry R. Swaty, Mechanical Engineering

Michael F. Thorburn, Statistics

Ryan J. Turner, General Engineering

Bethany A. Wright, Chemical Engineering

Thomas D. Ziegler, Electrical Engineering


Taylor N. DeWitt, Chemical Engineering

Craig A. Ekstrum, Materials Science and Engineering

Jacob S. Ferguson, Computer Engineering

Daren U. Giuchin, Electrical Engineering Tech

Delilah S. Hauswirth, Biochem & Molec Biology-Bio Sc

Ross T. Hogan, Mechanical Engineering

Clara P. Johnson, Exercise Science

Bryce Leaf, Mechanical Engineering

Heather L. Marker, Biomedical Engineering

Joe H. Uren, Management Information Systems


Jacob M. Flynn, Exercise Science