Breaking News
Local

Then and Now: The Upper Peninsula Brewing Company

2 min read

By RANDY CROUCH

Journall Staff Writer

MARQUETTE -- Some people who are unfamiliar with the history of Marquette may wonder why the city is home to a building that resembles a small castle.

The building, formerly known as the Upper Peninsula Brewing Company, can be clearly seen by those traveling U.S. 41 near Meeske Avenue.

The structure is easy to recognize with its sandstone exterior, stone chimney and parapets. The unique building was formerly part of a larger complex that made up the brewery.

The brewery complex, including the structure that still stands today, was built in 1893. It was originally the home and office of Charles Meeske, a Prussian businessman and brewer. Meeske, along with German brewer Reiner Hoch took over the Upper Peninsula Brewing Company from George Rublein.

The building operated as a brewery during subsequent decades until the Upper Peninsula Brewing Company folded in 1916.

After the end of its life as a brewery, the building had stints as an antique shop, a shipping warehouse and is currently home to Marquette law firm Numinen, DeForge & Toutant.

While the majority of the complex was demolished in the mid-70's, the remaining portion of the building was renovated in the 1980's after being added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.

Randy Crouch can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 542. His email address is rcrouch@miningjournal.net

Starting at /week.