School board seats decided

MARQUETTE — Jennifer Ray and Jennifer Klipp won seats on the Marquette Area Public Schools Board of Education on Tuesday.

They received 7,725 and 6,743 votes, respectively.

The two MAPS board seats that were up for grabs are for six-year terms ending in 2026.

“I cannot emphasize enough my gratitude to this community for its support and the volunteers who worked nonstop on behalf of Jennifer Ray and me, and, of course, Jen herself, who has proven to be one of the kindest, hardest working people I have ever known,” Klipp said in a Facebook post. “When either of us felt the effects of the public mud-slinging, we had each other to remind us who we were, what we valued, and who we were doing this for: the children of the community. All of them, but especially those without voices.”

Also receiving votes were Dan J. Audette with 5,485, Leigh Beth Freberg with 3,763 and Keith Glendon with 2,048.

Mary Jo Paris-Johns, incumbent President Dawn Andrews and incumbent Trustee TJ Derwin won seats on the Gwinn Area Community Schools Board of Education. Paris-Johns had 2,548 votes, followed by Andrews with 2,088 and Derwin with 1,997. Tina Evans received 1,898 votes.

The six-year terms will end in 2026.

Trustee Kathleen Carlson and Scott K. Mann won seats on the NICE Community Schools Board of Education with vote totals of 2,143 and 1,488, respectively.

Also receiving votes were Janet Wisuri with 1,235 and Trustee Steve Baril with 1,026.

The six-year terms will end in 2026.

Winning seats on the Republic-Michigamme School Board were Vice President Mark Antilla, Trustee Dave Holsworth, Secretary SuAnn Ambuehl and Katrina A. Lowrey. Antilla received 651 votes, followed by Holsworth with 618, Ambuehl with 504 and Lowrey with 439.

Alexander Ross received 330 votes.

The four-year terms run through 2024.

All election results are unofficial until they have been certified by the Marquette County Board of Canvassars, which is expected to meet at 10 a.m. today.

Christie Mastric can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 250. Her email address is cbleck @miningjournal.net


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today