Westwood students recognized at Business Professionals of America state event

Twelve WHS students earned 19 awards at the State Leadership Conference in Grand Rapids, with 11 students earning the right to move on to national competition. Ten of those award-winners were to join students from across the nation to participate in national level business skills competitions, workshops and general sessions. The organization’s activities and programs complement classroom instruction by giving students practical experience through application of the skills learned at school. BPA is contributing to the preparation of a world-class workforce through the advancement of leadership, citizenship, academic and technological skills. The results from the State Leadership Conference are as follows: Dixie Nicholas — 1st Place, Advanced Office Systems & Procedures, Gold Medal, Administrative Support Concepts; Leah Wisuri — 1st Place, Legal Office Procedures, 2nd Place, Advanced Word Processing; Kyle Swiedals — 1st Place, Database Applications, 4th Place, Advanced Spreadsheet Applications; Katelyn Anttila — 1st Place, Basic Office Systems & Procedures; Nathan Wisuri — 1st Place, Fundamental Word Processing; Aili Harmon — 2nd Place, Intermediate Word Processing, Silver Medal, Administrative Support Concepts, Bronze Medal, Financial Math & Analysis, Bronze Medal, Management/Marketing /Human Resources Concepts; Alina Jones — 2nd Place, Integrated Office Applications, 5th Place, Advanced Word Processing; Madelyn Koski — 3rd Place, Fundamental Word Processing; Makenzie Rajala — 3rd Place, Legal Office Procedures; Heidi Hinkens — 4th Place, Medical Office Procedures; Adam Hyttinen — 4th Place, Intermediate Word Processing; and Brittany Nardi — 7th Place, Advanced Office Systems & Procedures. These students were expected to attend the national competition in Dallas, Texas. Pictured, from left, front row: Aili Harmon, Heidi Hinkens, Leah Wisuri, Alina Jones, Makenzie Rajala and Brittany Nardi. Back row: Dixie Nicholas, Nathan Wisuri, Adam Hyttinen, Kyle Swiedals and Katelyn Anttila.