Trustee/treasurer candidates chosen in Michigamme Township


MICHIGAMME –Julia Anderson-Leake and Donald Deroche will appear as the candidate for Michigamme Township Board trustee on the Nov. 3 general election ballot.

Anderson-Leake garnered 74 votes followed by Deroche with 48 votes, Laura Mattson who received 46 votes and Ed Olson with 39 votes. One write-in vote was also cast.

In other races, current township supervisor William Seppanen ran unopposed on the Democratic ticket, he will appear on the November election having garnered 84 votes, with 12 write-in votes also cast.

Democrat Elizabeth Howe-Koenig , who ran unopposed to appear on the Nov. 3 ballot for the township clerk’s seat, received 79 votes; and Irene Deroche, who ran unopposed Tuesday with 84 votes, will run on the Democratic ticket for township treasurer in November.

All board members serve four-year terms.

As of press time Tuesday, no Republican candidates were listed in the election information on the Marquette County Clerk’s webpage.

Election results remain unofficial until the Marquette County Board of Canvassers verifies them at a 1 p.m. meeting today.

906-228-2500, ext. 242. Her email address is lbowers@miningjournal.net.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today