School board seats decided

MARQUETTE — Jennifer Ray and Jennifer Klipp won seats on the Marquette Area Public Schools Board of Education on Tuesday.

They received 7,725 and 6,743 votes, respectively.

The two MAPS board seats up for grabs are for six-year terms ending in 2026.

Also receiving votes were Dan J. Audette with 5,485, Leigh Beth Freberg with 3,763 and Keith Glendon with 2,048.

Mary Jo Paris-Johns, incumbent President Dawn Andrews and incumbent Trustee TJ Derwin won seats on the Gwinn Area Community Schools Board of Education. Paris-Johns had 2,548 votes, followed by Andrews with 2,088 and Derwin with 1,997. Tina Evans received 1,898 votes.

The six-year terms will end in 2026.

Kathleen Carlson and Scott K. Mann won seats on the NICE Community Schools Board of Education with vote totals of 2,143 and 1,488, respectively.

Also receiving votes were Janet Wisuri with 1,235 and Steve Baril, with 1,026.

The six-year terms will end in 2026.

Winning seats on the Republic-Michigamme School Board were Mark Antilla, Dave Holsworth, SuAnn Ambuehl and Katrina A. Lowrey. Antilla received 651 votes, followed by Holsworth with 618, Ambuehl with 504 and Lowrey with 439.

Alexander Ross received 330 votes.

The four-year terms run through 2024.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today