Incumbents win in Niagara vote

NIAGARA — Three Niagara City Council incumbents were re-elected in Tuesday’s spring election in Wisconsin.

With four candidates vying for three seats, Michael Darne drew the most votes with 104, followed by Don Shampo and Lynn Schabo Burke, 94 apiece. Challenger Lisa A. Mattia drew 80 votes.

Incumbent Niagara Mayor George Bousley did not seek re-election and will be succeeded by Joe Johnston, who received 137 votes.

In the Niagara School Board election, two incumbents overcame a write-in challenge from Kimberly Champeau Dumke. Julie Neuens led with 199 votes while Karie A. Kehn received 149 votes. Dumke’s vote total was 78.

In contested town board races in northern Marinette County:

≤ Bruce Radtke unseated Dunbar Supervisor Joseph Stoll, 105 to 43.

≤ In Pembine, Anthony Erno, with 105 votes, and Heather M. Willis, 55 votes, were elected to supervisor seats. Falling short were Patrick Willis, 42; and write-ins Christopher S. Bigelow, 42; and Keith Neubert, 11. Two incumbents didn’t run.

≤ Incumbent Beecher Chairman Robert Gehri defeated challenger Cary L. Clancy Whiting, 76-40.

In the race for District 3 Wisconsin Court of Appeals judge, Gregory Gill prevailed over Rick Cveykus, receiving about 55% of the vote. Gill is a circuit court judge in Appleton while Cveykus is a Wausau attorney.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today