23 area girls earn U.P. special, honorable mention

By Journal Sports Staff

MARQUETTE — Twenty-three girls from the area were named Special Mention or Honorable Mention when All-Upper Peninsula basketball teams were named by the U.P. Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association at its meeting held Tuesday in Marquette.

Special Mention players received at least two votes from the UPSSA panel.

Here are the honorees from area schools:


Divisions 1-3 — Marissa Delmont, Gwinn; Trisha McGuire, Gwinn; Aspen Michelin, Marquette; Karlie Patron, Westwood

Division 4 — Adrian Depew, Newberry; Daryn Johnson, Munising


Divisions 1-3 — Madison Carter, Marquette; Kayley Elmblad, Marquette; Alyssa Hill, Negaunee; Brooke Mannor, Gwinn; Chloe Norman, Negaunee; Emma Poirier, Ishpeming; Hannah Voskuhl, Negaunee

Division 4 — Taylor Downs, Munising; Allison Durant, Baraga; Jada Johnson, Superior Central; Rylie Koskinen, Baraga; Reide Osterman, Baraga; Katie Rahilly, Newberry; Tailyn Raisanen, Republic-Michigamme; Josie Rice, L’Anse; Maija Rice, L’Anse; Nikki Wertanen, Republic-Michigamme

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.