Yesney sets record to lead Negaunee boys at WIN meet

NEGAUNEE – Junior Colton Yesney set a course record in leading his Negaunee High School boys cross country team to victory at the WIN meet held at the Negaunee Township Hall on Tuesday afternoon.

Yesney clocked 16 minutes, 22 seconds to beat the field by more than a minute and win the boys individual title.

He led the Miners to a 24-point total as Ishpeming scored 34 and Westwood 153.

Ishpeming senior Grady Kerst was runner-up in 17:25. While Kerst’s teammate Spencer Giroux finished third in 17:30, Negaunee clinched the team title by taking five of the next six places, including Thomas Ziegler in fourth, Ethan Wallner fifth and Elliot Prusi sixth.

The Patriots’ top finisher was junior Andrew Dieterle in 22nd in 21:09.

In the girls race, Negaunee freshman Emily Paupore and junior Clara Johnson made a strong 1-2 punch, but it was Ishpeming’s depth that pulled out a four-point victory for the Hematites.

IHS scored 32 points to 36 for Negaunee and 67 for Westwood.

Paupore won the race in 19:53, while Johnson was right on her heels in 19:55.

Even though they beat out the rest of the field by more than two minutes, Ishpeming had five top-10 finishers.

In third was Westwood junior Amanda Matznick in 22:17, followed by four Hematites in a row – Khora Swanson in fourth, Kayla Kaukola fifth, Chloe Sjoholm sixth and Katie Loman seventh.

Ishpeming goes to the Dollar Bay Invitational in Chassell on Thursday afternoon, while all three WIN combatants are set to be at the El Harger Invite at Pictured Rocks Golf Course in Munising on Tuesday.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@miningjournal.net.