Skyline Central recognizes Alger County girls

By Journal Sports Staff

FELCH — Five players from Alger County schools were recognized when honored were recently announced in girls basketball for the Skyline Central Conference.

Four of the players were from Munising while one Superior Central player earned two awards.

Mustangs senior Michaela Werner was a unanimous pick for the SCC’s First Team, while senior teammate Daryn Johnson was chosen for the Second Team.

In addition, Munising senior Taylor Downs and Superior Central senior Jada Johnson earned honorable mention.

Three of these players earned a second award, too.

Daryn Johnson was named to the league’s All-Defensive Team, while Downs also won the SCC’s Free Throw Award for shooting the best percentage of 85 percent.

Jada Johnson won the SCC’s Individual Sportsmanship Award, and no coincidentally, the Cougars earned the Team Sportsmanship Award.

North Dickinson junior Brianna Smith was named the SCC’s Player of the Year, Forest Park junior Mercedes Simmons earned Defensive Player of the Year and North Central’s Lee Vincent was honored as Coach of the Year.

The league also recognized its champions — Bark River-Harris for Large Schools varsity teams, Carney-Nadeau for Small Schools varsity, BR-H for Large Schools JV, and C-N and NC tying for Small Schools JV.

Here are other league honorees, with year and school:

First Team — Kennedy Englund, jr., Mid Peninsula (unanimous); Mercedes Simmons, jr., Forest Park; Autumn Rasner, sr., Stephenson; Hailee Demers, sr., Bark River-Harris; Layla Blahnik-Thoune, sr., Carney-Nadeau; Haley Clifford, sr., Norway

Second Team — Andie Arsenault, soph., North Central; Cassidi Stannard, sr., BR-H; Natalie Belanger, soph., Rapid River; Holli Stapleton, sr., Big Bay de Noc; Chloe Wells, sr., North Central; Dalas Loehr, jr., FP

All-Defensive Team — Lauryn Bloniarz, sr., BR-H; Sierra Debelak, jr., BR-H; Daisy Englund, MP; Taylor Paupore, NC; Brianna Smith, ND; Haley Clifford, Norway; Natalie Belanger, RR; Autumn Rasner, Stephenson

Honorable mention — Bloniarz, BR-H; Debelak, BR-H; Grace Peterson, jr., BR-H; Tessa Wagner, fresh., C-N; Cheveney Koski, jr., MP; Bree Arsenault, jr., NC; Ashton Hord, fresh., ND; Hannah Clark, jr., ND; Kristin Goodacre, jr., RR; Emily Johnson, jr., Stephenson

Information compiled by Journal Sports Editor Steve Brownlee. His email address is