Skyline Conference names volleyball award winners

MARQUETTE — The Skyline Central Conference volleyball award winners were announced Tuesday and a few local players were named to the First and Second Teams.

Munising senior Emily Contreras was the lone local member of the SCC First Team, while teammate Michaela Werner and Superior Central’s Sydney Emard made the Second Team.

Mustangs seniors Daryn Johnson and Taylor Downs earned honorable mention awards and Munising finished as the Large School co-champion with Stephenson.

Cougars junior Betty Jo Swajanen earned the Individual Sportsmanship award along with Big Bay de Noc’s Maddie McPhee.

Both Munising and SC are currently in the Division 4 district tournament, which is hosted by Mid Peninsula. The Mustangs play the host Wolverines at 6 p.m. Thursday, while the Cougars take on Rapid River at 7:30 p.m. The championship will be at 7 p.m. Saturday.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Writer Ryan Stieg. His email address is