Mavs win 2nd straight league title

The Marquette County Mavericks clinched their second straight Superiorland Baseball League playoff title in the league’s two years in existence with a 16-0 victory over regular-season champion Channing in the playoff finals on Aug. 18 in Channing. The Mavericks also defated Coldwell Banker-Craig Heinonen 8-5 in the playoff semifinals. Team members include, front row from left, James Larsen II, Tyler Skufca, Jake Spear, Spencer Larson, C.J. Lepisto and Steve Hintsala. Top row from left, Riley Debelak, Sam Prentice, Aaron “Goose” Adriano, Jacob Adriano and Hunter Larson. Not pictured are Jeremy Rae, Brad Jalonen, Tony Zampese, Jay Oberg, Riley Lynch, Ryan Hanson and Preston Hutchens. (Journal photo by Steve Brownlee)