Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS


July 22, 2014
Mining Journal

The Mining Journal is showcasing candidates running for the Marquette Board of Light and Power.

Five candidates are running for two open seats on the Marquette Board of Light and Power in the Aug. 5 primary election. The four top vote-getters will advance to the Nov. 4 general election. The race is non-partisan.

The candidates include John Braamse, Dave Carlson, Jerry Irby, Thomas Tourville and Kenneth Wanberg, all of Marquette. The vacancies were created after BLP board members Edward Angeli and John Sonderegger had served two consecutive three-year terms. City rules require such candidates to leave office for two years before running again. The Marquette BLP is a municipal electric utility serving roughly 17,000 customers in the city of Marquette and all or parts of nine townships, including Marquette, Negaunee, Ishpeming, West Branch, Richmond, Chocolay, Skandia, Sands and Forsyth.

In 1965, the utility - which was operating under administration of the city - was placed under the jurisdiction of its own five member, publicly elected board.

The candidates were each asked to provide some details about their backgrounds and why voters should choose them. Word limitations were imposed on answers.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web