Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | Home RSS

Seven NMU skiers named to All-CCSA first teams

February 21, 2013
By Journal Sports Staff ( , The Mining Journal

MARQUETTE - Four Northern Michigan University women and three men from the Wildcats' Nordic ski team were named to the All-Central Collegiate Ski Association first team on Thursday, the most out of school.

NMU junior Rosie Frankowski, junior Jordyn Ross, freshman Mary Kate Cirelli and freshman Hannah Boyer were all named to the women's All-CCSA first team along with St. Scholastica's Sharmila Ahmed.

Northern junior Erik Soderman, junior George Cartwright and senior Chris Bowler were joined on the men's All-CCSA first team by St. Scholastica's Jeremy Hecker and Alaska's Michael Fehrehbach.

Cartwright won a CCSA title in the men's sprints for NMU at Al Quaal in Ishpeming two weeks ago while Soderman won both the men's 20-kilometer freestyle and 10K classic in Minnesota over the weekend. Both were also a part of Northern's winning classic relay team at Al Quaal.

Frankowski, Ross and Cirelli made up the victorious NMU women's classic relay team at Al Quaal.

Fact Box

2013 All-CCSA teams


First team

Erik Soderman, NMU

George Cartwright, NMU

Jeremy Hecker, St. Scholastica

Chris Bowler, NMU

Michael Fehrehbach, Alaska

Second team

Lex Treinen, Alaska

Jonas Loffler, Alaska

Luke Gesior, Michigan Tech

Tyler Kornfield, Alaska

Max Olex, Alaska


First team

Rosie Frankowski, NMU

Jordyn Ross, NMU

Sharmila Ahmed, St. Scholastica

Mary Kate Cirelli, NMU

Hannah Boyer, NMU

Second team

Aly McPhetres, Alaska

Kailey Mucha, Green Bay

Sarah Daniels, Michigan Tech

Crystal Pitney, Alaska

Lynn Duijndam, Michigan Tech



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web